PASTOR

I spent a chunk of Saturday taking down a wallpaper border in my living room.  It took longer and a little more elbow grease than I thought/wanted it to.  Truth is, though I am all for helping others out and encouraging others to do the same, I would tell someone to seriously consider the “running away” option when asked to take down wallpaper. 

Anyways…while I was standing on my short work ladder scoring, spraying my homemade concoction of fabric softener and water for glue removal and then scraping, I thought about a phrase I’ve heard quite a bit over the course of the last couple of months.  That phrase is, “God will not give me more than I can handle.”  This phrase is usually brought up when a person is dealing with an overwhelming situation, or a problem brought about by no fault of their own. 

I am writing today to declare that phrase completely incorrect.  (I think most people who use this phrase are misremember what the Bible says in 1 Corinthians 10:13 where God will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you can bear.)   The truth is, God will very often give you way more than you can handle.  Let me give you some examples.  Noah built an ark (granted, some of you have been on cruise ships bigger than the ark, but they weren’t built by one guy with maybe the help of his three sons and everyone in town ribbing them for building it).  Moses took an entire nation of people and moved them from one country to another.  David took out a giant.  Daniel spent a night in a den of hungry lions.  The horrific beatings early Christians took to establish the Church (John, the guy who wrote Revelation, was dipped in boiling oil, came out unscathed so the Roman authorities sent him to a penal colony…yeah, they really showed him).

There are quite a few examples of people doing things they really couldn’t do on their own…including you.  But that is the whole point of putting our faith in God.  He will allow, or even create things (i.e. Noah and the ark) to happen in your life that seem absolutely insurmountable so you will turn to Him and allow Him to work through you; in turn strengthening your faith in Him as you accomplish insurmountable tasks.

Remember, whatever doesn’t kill you, only makes you stronger.  So, whenever a tough situation befalls you and doesn’t kill you, consider it a welcome sign to God’s weight room and get lifting you puny believa (say it like Arnold Schwarzenegger and you’ll chuckle).  By the way, the Spotter at the weight room is available 24/7.

Leave a Reply

