HUSBAND, PASTOR

It’s been a while since my last post.  My apologies to my faithful followers (all two of you, mom and Stevie :-)).  Just kidding!

Today is September 11th, and of course, a ton of memories of what happened on this day 11 years ago flooded my brain.  Stevie and I had been married a whole 8 months and 10 days.  I just got out of the shower and Stevie called me telling me to turn on the news.  As soon as the tv warmed up, there it was…a picture of smoke billowing out of one of the towers and then a second plane crashing into the second tower.  I remember feeling shocked and wondering what was happening as the news reporters were somewhat hysterical trying to report what was going on.  Then when the towers came crashing down, the emotions flooded over me and I started crying and praying for those who had loved ones in those buildings.  I remember not being very “fearful” of where my family was…Stevie had just called me and we didn’t have any kids yet.  None of my extended family (parents, siblings, in-laws, etc.) worked in any tall buildings, so I just figured they were safe and feeling the same emotions I was feeling.  I did go to work that day and had plenty of discussions with co-workers about what was going on with the towers, the plane in Pennsylvania and the Pentagon.  Needless to say, not much “normal” work got done in the group home that day.  When I got home, I remember feeling really odd when Stevie and I heard a plane flying over head, and then feeling somewhat comforted when the news reporter stated that if anyone heard any planes or helicopters flying it was military aircraft…but not completely comforted because I wasn’t sure if that military plane was about to shoot something down.

Plenty of mixed emotions were felt that day…a little fear, a little anger, a little patriotism, a little sadness, a little shock…but at the same time, a quite a bit of peace.  I realize that may come off a bit oxymoronic, if not rude.  I mean quite a few people just lost quite a few loved ones…how could one feel any sense of peace in the midst of such tragedy?  But that’s what is promised in Philippians 4:7 for those that follow Christ.  Interestingly enough, church attendance sky rocketed the Sunday following September 11, 2001.  Many wanted to grab at that peace that God so freely gives, and many received it.

I saw many tributes and remembrances on Facebook today, as there should be.  But the real tragedy coming out of 9/11, if I may be so bold to say, is that though many will remember what happened and the lives lost that day, too many will forget the God that they turned to that day or September 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 or 17, 2001 as they cried out for peace and comfort in a time of tragedy.

There’s a saying that those who forget history are doomed to repeat it…we may never repeat the tragic events of 9/11, but too many repeatedly fall into a pit of despair and restlessness because they’ve forgotten God.  If that’s you friend, turn back to God and regain peace in your life!

Leave a Reply

