PASTOR

When I was in college, they had an annual job fair for all us students.  All sorts of companies and “mom and pop” shops would gather in the gymnasium, set up booths and hand out applications.  I went to it once.  The first company at the door was a hardware store.  For some odd reason, I remember this interaction really well…I walk in and the two guys standing there said to me, “Now there’s a guy that needs to be working in a hardware store.”  I smiled politely and kept on walking thinking to myself, “You don’t want me anywhere near a tool chest because I have no clue what to do with half of those things.”  It didn’t help that I was wearing jeans, boots and a long sleeve flannel shirt at the time.

However, about two weeks ago I might have been mistaken for the handy-man type again…and no, not because of my lack of fashion.  I actually had to repair two eye sores.  One was the rail on the “deck” connected to our front enclosed porch.  Somehow the rail busted off of the post and I needed to reconnect it along with “patching” the post.  The other thing was a hole in the ceiling over the entry way to the church.  Apparently the last fix wasn’t permanent, and pieces of the ceiling were on the floor.  I patched it up.  Both items are now fixed…they don’t look great, but they’re fixed.  However, I still don’t consider myself a handyman.  Have you ever heard the saying, “Standing in a garage doesn’t make you a car”?  Yeah, just because I was able to fix a few things definitely doesn’t make me a handy-man.

This last week I started a message series on stewardship.  Most people’s thoughts turn straight to money when this is brought up, but I’m challenging the folks in my church to go beyond that and look at their entire lives.  After all the definition I gave them for stewardship was, “The careful and responsible management of something entrusted to one’s care” (I got that from Merriam-Webster.com).

What does this have to do with my story?  I’ve met plenty of people who say they’re not sure “who they are” or “what they’re supposed to do”.  Some absolutely desire to be someone else and work really hard to be something they’re not.  They stand in a garage and try their best to be a car…but it just isn’t going to work.

In the first message in this series, part of the challenge to people in the church was to make the most of what God has given you.  I used the story Christ told in Matthew 25:14-30 about the master who gave money to three of his servants to watch over while he was away.  The first two servants double the money, while the third hid his, not losing any of the money, but also not gaining anything.  The first two were commended and rewarded while the third was condemned and banished from the household.

Friends, God has given you various gifts and talents to be used for His purposes.  You need to use those to the best of your ability.  If you’re in a funk not sure of who you are, or what you’re supposed to do in this life, you need to talk to God who owns all of it and find out what He has for you.

I’m not a handy-man, I’m a husband, father, pastor and Packer fan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

